Armistice Anniversary Concert: James Gilchrist, Philip Dukes & Anna Tilbrook

November 22, 2018 @ 7:30 pm
Forum Theatre, Malvern Theatres
Grange Rd
Malvern WR14 3HB


James Gilchrist, tenor

Philip Dukes, viola

Anna Tilbrook, piano

  • Purcell arr. Britten Evening Hymn (1947)
  • Purcell arr. Britten Lord, What is Man? (1947)
  • Rebecca Clarke Come, Oh Come, my life’s delight (1912)
  • Rebecca Clarke Passacaglia for Viola and Piano (1941)
  • Rebecca Clarke Weep no more sad fountains (1912)
  • Britten Lachrymae (1950)
  • David Bednall The Mower (2017)
  • Elgar arr. Tertis for viola and piano Cello Concerto, Slow movement (1920)
  • Gurney Severn Meadows (1917)
  • Gurney In Flanders (1917)
  • Gurney An Epitaph (1920)
  • Gurney Down by the Salley Gardens (1920)
  • Ireland The Soldier (1917)
  • Ireland Blow out, you Bugles (1918)
  • Ireland Spring Sorrow (1918)
  • Vaughan Williams Romance for viola and piano (1914)
  • Vaughan Williams Four Hymns (1914) – Lord! Come Away!; Who is the fair one?; Come Love Come Lord; Evening Hymn

James Gilchrist, Anna Tilbrook and Philip Dukes

Having been a chorister in the choir of New College, Oxford, and later a choral scholar at King’s College, Cambridge, James Gilchrist began his working life as a doctor, turning to a full-time career in music in 1996. His extensive concert repertoire has seen him perform in major concert halls throughout the world. A prolific and versatile recitalist, James enjoys imaginative and varied programming in collaborations with many pianists, and regularly with Anna Tilbrook, with whom he recently returned to the Wigmore Hall to begin their project ’Schumann and the English Romantics’. Anna made her debut at the Wigmore Hall in 1999 and has since become a regular performer at Europe’s major concert halls and festivals, as well as coaching regularly for the Royal Opera, Covent Garden. As a concerto soloist, Philip Dukes has appeared with the major British orchestras, making his BBC Proms Concerto debut in 1995 and returning in 1999, 2005 and 2007. He has recorded a wide range of solo CDs, most notably the complete works for viola by Rebecca Clarke, and a first recording of Tippett’s Triple Concerto.

Devised by the performers for an intriguing combination of voice and instruments, ‘Faith, Fate and the Futility of War’ is a poignant programme of songs and chamber music commemorating the two world wars of the twentieth century.

Ticket prices

Adult £21, Student under 21 in full-time education £6
Prices include a £1 contribution towards Malvern Theatres’ Heritage Fund.

Malvern Theatres also charge a booking fee of 12%, except for members of the Theatres’ own Gold, Silver and Bronze membership schemes. Please apply to the Theatres for details. Prices including the fee are £23.52 and £6.72 (students).